But why was your license suspended?
Hello and thank you for taking the time to read my question. In March of 2013 I pled guilty to a dwls ticket, paid my fine and received no probation or any other requirements from the court. This is the only dwls conviction I have received. I would like to obtain my cpl but I am unsure if I can do to the dwls conviction. I checked the Michigan State Police website for the requirements but it's a little misleading (at least for me). I'm sure everyone that has a cpl in Michigan has seen this before but I will post it just for reference sake.
12. Have not been convicted of one of the following misdemeanors in the 8 years immediately preceding the date of application:
Failing to stop when involved in a personal injury accident, MCL 257.617a
Operating while intoxicated, second offense, MCL 257.625(9)(b)
Drunk driving, commercial vehicle, MCL 257.625m(4)
Reckless driving, MCL 257.626
Driving while license suspended or revoked, second or subsequent offense, MCL 257.90
I'm not sure if this is saying that you can not have a dwls in the last 8 years or if you can't have a second dwls in the last past 8 years. Anyone know the answer to this question?
My licence was suspened from 2005 when I was stopped and got a no proof ticket and didn't pay it so they suspeneded my licence. Got stopped again in 2013 when I got hit with the dwls.
Ok. So just to clear this issue up incase anyone else has this question. I just talked to the Oakland county clerks office (where you submit your paperwork for your cpl) and it turns out that the dwls 1st office doesn't restrict your right to obtain a cpl. Thank you everyone for your responses.
Last edited by DHenry; 08-05-2013 at 11:56 AM. Reason: Follow up.
I read it as second offence. Do you have to go in front of a gun board in your county ? Some will use it to deny you.
I don't see why it matters why his license was suspended simply the fact he was convicted of dwls. The way it reads to me you'd have to have to be convicted of it more than one time. If you've only been convicted once then you're good.
Last edited by xmanhockey7; 08-05-2013 at 04:00 PM.
"No state shall convert a liberty to a privilege, license it, and charge a fee therefor.- Murdock vs Pennsylvania 319 US 105
...If the state converts a right into a privelege, the citizen can ignore the license and fee and engage in the right... with impunity.
- Shuttleworth vs City of Birmingham, Alabama 317 US 262
Where rights secured by the Constitution are involved, there can be no legislation which would abrogate them.
- Miranda vs Arizona 384 US 436
That should not be a problem.
Gun control isn't about the gun at all.... for those who want gun control it is all about their own fragile egos, their own lack of self esteem, their own inner fears, and most importantly... their own desire to dominate others. And an openly carried gun is a slap in the face to all of those things.
Does the OP have the MCL # he was found/plead guilty to?
It should be on his court papers.
If he can't find it, his lawyer should know.
Knowing the exact MCL he was found/plead guilty to would help to answer his question more precisely.
Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.
I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.
Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.