Thread: Possibly OT? laws and self defense

Possibly OT? laws and self defense

I have been checking out the site "Rationality Rebooted" from time time and I often see this mentioned in a self defense situation with say, multiple perps. business owner / homeowner is targeted by multiple perps wherein one looses his turn on the mortal coil and the others flee. However, the perps when caught can be charged with the death of the other perp because they were jointly comitting a crime.

My question is if there is something similar in WA state.

It is called a felony murder law.
    I am responsible for my writing, not your understanding of it.

I'm not a lawyer, so maybe Rapgood could weigh in here but it sounds like you're describing the "felony murder rule" However I am not a lawyer so you should ask a lawyer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Felony_murder_rule

United States[edit source | editbeta]
    As of August 2008, 46 states in the United States have a felony murder rule,[9] under which felony murder is generally first degree murder. In 24 of those states, it is a capital offense.[9] When the government seeks to impose the death penalty on someone convicted of felony murder, the Eighth Amendment has been interpreted so as to impose additional limitations on the state power. The death penalty may not be imposed if the defendant is merely a minor participant and did not actually kill or intend to kill. However, the death penalty may be imposed if the defendant is a major participant in the underlying felony and "exhibits extreme indifference to human life".
    The Model Penal Code does not include the felony murder rule, but allows the commission of a felony to raise a presumption of extreme indifference to the value of human life.[10][11] Thus, the felony murder rule is effectively used as a rule of evidence.
    Most states recognize the merger doctrine, which holds that a criminal assault cannot serve as the predicate felony for the felony murder rule.[12]