Thread: Taurus vs ati

Taurus vs ati

hello there i have been looking to get a 45 1911 i like the look of the taurus pt-1911 and the ATI 1911 only thing is i have not heard alot about ATI any one have one or have any exp in them i just font want to buy something with out alittle feed bak thank you

I have no experience with ATI however I do have a PT1911 and I do enjoy it. It is accurate and dependable. Feeds anything I give it. However it is heavy, I usually OC my compact RIA as it is noticeably lighter for long days carrying.

An aluminum frame would help with the weight as will a belt designed for carry (a good carry belt made a big difference for me) but with aluminum you might worry about longevity.
    We in America do not have government by the majority. We have government by the majority who participate.

Thomas Jefferson

I don't own either, but going off my experience with both manufacturers' other products and what I've heard from those who own their 1911s, I'd go with a Taurus. ATI isn't exactly known for importing the best quality firearms or standing behind their products, nor are they known for their customer service. While some people have issues with Taurus, they stand behind their guns 100% and offer lifetime warranties on their products even after the the product has been discontinued and changed hands several times. As for the actual quality of both manufacturers' 1911s I know people who own both and a lot more of the ATIs have to be sent back for service.

Again, none of this is first hand, so take it as you will. There's plenty of information about both on the internet if you want to check out first-hand accounts, both in video and written review form.
    You can never be too rich, too good-looking, or too well-armed.