Thread: Open carry and school zones

Open carry and school zones

First I apologize if my thread title is misleading. I'm new to open carry, and fully understand that carrying ON school grounds is verboten. I also know that the law says I am to not be within 1000 ft of a school zone.

However, I find myself in something of a puzzling situation. I live in a mobile home community, the driveway of which opens onto a main street in my town. Directly across from this driveway is the grounds of the local high school. The school itself is set a fair ways back from the street (I don't know if it's a full 1,000 feet or not though). I come and go from my home several times a day, either walking, driving, or riding (tractor, motorcycle, or bicycle), meaning I'm as close as 5ft to the school grounds.

What actually constitutes "school zone"? The school itself and the sidewalk surrounding it? The school, its sidewalk, and its parking lots? The school and the complete property upon which it resides? The last thing I want is to find myself in a legal predicament while doing something as simple as walking to the gas station or the restaurant next door.

I thank everybody in advance.

948.605  Gun-free school zones.

(2) Possession of firearm in school zone.
    (a) Any individual who knowingly possesses a firearm at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is in or on the grounds of a school is guilty of a Class I felony. Any individual who knowingly possesses a firearm at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is within 1,000 feet of the grounds of a school is subject to a Class B forfeiture.
    (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to the possession of a firearm by any of the following:
    1m. A person who possesses the firearm in accordance with 18 USC 922 (q) (2) (B) (i), (iv), (v), (vi), or (vii).