Have you ever been convicted of a crime for which the maximum penalty could have been imprisonment for 1 year or more?
Are you planning to go to WV armed?
Better leave your gun at home.
Unlike all our neighboring states which allow firearm possession by a person convicted of a misdemeanor for which the maximum penalty could have been imprisonment for 2 years or less, West Virginia sets the bar much lower. Maryland, one of the most restrictive states in the region, is 'freeer' than WV in regards to who may possess a firearm.
WEST VIRGINIA CODE §61-7-7. Persons prohibited from possessing firearms; classifications; reinstatement of rights to possess; offenses; penalties.
(a) Except as provided in this section, no person shall possess a firearm, as such is defined in section two of this article, who:
(1) Has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year
The fact is some people screw up, a small percentage of those people get back on the right side of the law. You can pass the PICS check in PA and still be a prohibited person in WV.
Travelers beware and be well informed.