Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Your thoughts about me OC while working

Your thoughts about me OC while working

I'm looking for opinions from this community as I'm trying to decide whether open carrying while I'm working is a good idea or a bad idea. I do not yet have a CCW, so OC or unarmed are my only two legal choices.

First off, I'm an independent contractor and have no "employer restrictions" on carrying while working, so there is no policy restriction on carrying a firearm while I work. What I do is inspect and photograph foreclosed homes for investors that buy them at auction.

I get emailed a list of addresses to drive each day. My duties are to first determine whether the house is vacant or occupied, usually without disturbing the potential occupant. I do this by checking whether utilities are on or off and by talking to neighbors who may be outside when I arrive.

If the house is occupied, I take a few photos of the exterior from the street and take some notes to file my report. If the property is vacant, I take more extensive photos of the entire property, back yard, and interior if possible. I have a set of keys that let me get inside about half of the vacant houses. The other half I take photos through windows that aren't covered with blinds, curtains, etc.

I have yet to run into any situations where I needed to be armed, like squatters or someone cooking meth, but the potential is certainly there. Especially when I have to go to houses in less than desirable areas. I would definitely feel more comfortable armed in case I run into some gang bangers hanging out in one of these vacant houses.

My concern is that people will see an armed man walking around the property and looking through windows of these vacant houses and there will be MWAG calls about me frequently. I'm also concerned that neighbors who are outside will freak out when I approach them to ask if they know any information about the property.

Please share your thoughts.