Thread: apartment living by a school zone

apartment living by a school zone

Good afternoon,
    So i am new to the Fairbanks area and I was actually very curious about one of the laws that we have in this great country and it is the having firearms near a school zone. Well i live near a school zone and have my lower 48 permit soon to have the alaskan permit, but my questio is about storage in a safe location, suchas a safe, in an apartment which would, from my understanding be considered private. Well researching how laws are actually applies I have noticed that if you store a firearm it specifically states vehicles but it doesn't say anything about if you live in an apartment complex or private residence and have it in a safe. Does anyone know where I might find this information is factually accurate and actually written down?
    Safe shooting,
    Zen

Post in the state forum for the state with laws covering you and your situation.
    I am responsible for my writing, not your understanding of it.

Federal GFSZA does not include private property. State laws may vary though.
    It is well that war is so terrible otherwise we would grow too fond of it.
    Robert E. Lee
    The patriot volunteer, fighting for country and his rights, makes the most reliable soldier on earth.
    Thomas Jonathan "Stonewall" Jackson
    What separates the winners from the losers is how a person reacts to each new twist of fate.
    President Donald Trump

Regular Member sudden valley gunner's Avatar
    Frequently asked questions in Washington. Maybe a mod can move this to the Washingto forum.

Lower 48 permit?

In Washington I wouldn't really worry about the school zones, it's a federal law, and with your "papers" you are good.

There are no laws for in house storage, English common law is supposed to be the rule of law here, and when something is not prohibited it is allowed.
    I am not anti Cop I am just pro Citizen.

U.S. v. Minker, 350 US 179, at page 187