Thread: apartment living by a school zone and securing your firearm

apartment living by a school zone and securing your firearm

Good afternoon,
    So i am new to the Fairbanks area and I was actually very curious about one of the laws that we have in this great country and it is the having firearms near a school zone. Well i live near a school zone and have my lower 48 permit soon to have the alaskan permit, but my questio is about storage in a safe location, suchas a safe, in an apartment which would, from my understanding be considered private. Well researching how laws are actually applies I have noticed that if you store a firearm it specifically states vehicles but it doesn't say anything about if you live in an apartment complex or private residence and have it in a safe. Does anyone know where I might find this information is factually accurate and actually written down?
    Safe shooting,
    Zen

Here is a place to start. A search of Alaska statutes for "firearms"

I am responsible for my writing, not your understanding of it.

thanks nightmare, but that's a lot of info to sift through. I'm pretty sure that as long as its in a private residence, even though im in a school zone, it should be just fine. Alaska doesn't strike me as the sort of state that would give up its ability to have a person defend themselves very easily. I'd just like something concrete so if im questioned by a leo I have the law on my side.

If questioned by a cop, your only safe response is, "Am I free to go?" Yes: Shut up and leave. No: "I will not resist, I refuse any search or seizure. I demand my attorney present." AND SHUT UP.

Do not argue with a cop. He is not bound to the truth. Anything you say will be used to incriminate you.
    Last edited by Nightmare; 02-01-2014 at 04:14 PM.