• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Noob Here. Questions on OC regarding residency.

paskeeter

Hello All,

Im originally from PA but was posted to Ft Bragg about 6 years ago and stayed here when I left the Army. I kept my PA residency so I am not a NC resident. My question is am I legal to OC?

I have read many of the laws pertaining to OC in NC but never found anything pertaining to this. I had a CCW permit from PA but unfortunately it expired.

I have been OC lately while walking my dog at night due to strays and some recent criminal activity but because I couldn't find it anywhere online I thought I would ask here.

Thanks

solus

welcome to the forum and hope you enjoy your OC'g in the best spot in the nation to OC...

primer for you to 'browse over' please take a look at section IIID in which the NC AG's staff discusses a lack of consensus of specific statute guidance for carrying firearms within vehicles.

speaking of vehicles, remember to put your firearm in plain and open sight as if you buckle up w/your firearm on it could be considered concealed. there are some who recommend carrying a lockable box to put your firearm in if stopped by LE.

enjoy the reading and welcome...

ipse

Grapeshot

Legendary Warrior
Welcome to OCDO paskeeter.