Thread: Looking to start casting tomorrow

Looking to start casting tomorrow

I'm looking at the instructions for it. It says to lube with silicone. Does any one have a recommendation? Will W/d 40 silicone work if used lightly?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Search For WD-40 Products

Search: silicone

No results.

http://wd40.com/search/?searchText=silicone
    I am responsible for my writing, not your understanding of it.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00631GSSI

Quote Originally Posted by mpguy View Post
    I'm looking at the instructions for it. It says to lube with silicone. Does any one have a recommendation? Will W/d 40 silicone work if used lightly?

I'm no expert but here's what I found searching for some info about the subject.

Let me know what you think, if it helps ya' out or not.

"Bullet lube ingredients/descriptions & Lube Recipes"

By: Rick Kelter

"There are far too many "possible" ingredients that could be used in bullet lube to list but many of the more common ones (and a few rather odd ones) are described below."

link #1;> http://www.lasc.us/LubeIngredients.htm#LubeCB

link #2;> http://www.lasc.us/ArticleIndex.htm
    Last edited by scott58dh; 02-16-2014 at 08:05 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by mpguy View Post
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00631GSSI

Not to be confused with Silicone.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dimethylsiloxane
    I am responsible for my writing, not your understanding of it.

There's something about this thread that just isn't up to snuff when measuring it with my snuffometer.

The vagueness of the OP's question is being met with entirely too specific answers.

It's like someone asking, "I'm working on my car, what size wrench should I use?"

Only to be met confidently with answers such as, "Definitely a 53/64ths. Without a doubt."

First of all, I've never lubed anything I've ever cast with silicone.