Thread: Help a Poor Texan Dream of a Holster

Help a Poor Texan Dream of a Holster

This is my first attempt at deciding on a holster, and I have no idea what brands out there are good or bad. I just found what looks to be reputable and have built my decisions on my own research using Google (a.k.a. infallible information).

In order of importance, my criteria were:
    Left-handed
    Glock 19
    1 level of retention above friction only
    Fits 1.5" belt
    Holds with or without light (bonus)

Here's my initial findings:
    Safariland 3280-2832-132-2
    1.5" belt loop adapter plate
    AresGear 1.5" IGL Ranger Belt
    Streamlight TLR-1 HL

The only thing more I would consider is a holster that would hold a G19 with or without a Surefire light attached. How did I do, and what would you change?

Go to a gun store. Try them out. Buy one. Prices are typically competitive and you get the benefit of the gunstore's knowledge of what works & doesn't work regarding particulars. In Dallas to Ray's sporting goods in west Dallas - just down around the corner from Clyde Barrow's grave.
    “Men live without other security than what their own strength and their own invention shall furnish them"
    -Thomas Hobbes 1651

Have you looked into the Safariland 6378?

It comes in both light and non-light versions with the added bonus of a very unobtrusive, easily used thumb release. It will also hold securely with or without the light attached.

I thought about a holster with light, but decided instead to go with a separately carried light that could be attached when needed. My daily carry is a Safariland Rapid Light System. Not quite as proprietary as a Streamlight, and a much, much less expensive.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	41nzBMVtQdL._AA300_.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	8.5 KB 
ID:	11295  
    Last edited by Fallschirmjäger; 02-21-2014 at 01:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Fallschirmjäger View Post