Thread: NO GUNS ALLOWED Lapeer county central dispatch.

NO GUNS ALLOWED Lapeer county central dispatch.

there is a sign posted that reads:

ATTENTION

ALL Firearms are prohibited
    beyond this point.

Secure area.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/847258...n/photostream/

Except this area isn't really secure, at least not all the time. They hold public meetings on the other side of that door. They also hold meetings from the local ham radio club, in which the public is welcome to attend. I've been through that door more than 20 times and i'm nobody special. The sign is new.

If that was a secure area they do have the right to prohibit people from entering but they cannot prevent people from entering simply because they possess a firearm.

I will keep you all posted.
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? (who will watch the watchmen?)

I am not a lawyer. Nothing in any of posts should be construed as legal advice.

Pic link is broken

Banned
    Interesting point about meetings. What does you open meetings law say about such a restriction?

Campaign Veteran smellslikemichigan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by davidmcbeth View Post
    Interesting point about meetings. What does you open meetings law say about such a restriction?
    nothing specific to firearms, but since we have preemption that precludes local units of gov from regulating firearms and you can't deny access to public meetings, they are not allowed to ban guns.
    "If it ain't loaded and cocked it don't shoot." - Rooster Cogburn
    http://www.graystatemovie.com/

Campaign Veteran smellslikemichigan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapeer20m View Post
    there is a sign posted that reads:

ATTENTION

ALL Firearms are prohibited
    beyond this point.

Secure area.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/847258...n/photostream/