Thread: New to open carry

New to open carry

Hello all I'm new to open carry haven't really tried it yet but my dad got me a Blackhawk serpa holster for my birthday for my pistol, its a Taurus 247 OSS tacticle 9 mm like I said I haven't open carried yet still trying to convince my wife of the safety importance and all. I'm from owensboro kentucky and saw one guy tonight at the bbq festival open carrying had a green pistol at the 3 oclock position and it made my wife feel a lot better about it that their are in fact "others" I'm hoping to learn about and try out this life saving habit any first timer tips or anything?

Quote Originally Posted by jwhayne0001 View Post
    Hello all I'm new to open carry haven't really tried it yet but my dad got me a Blackhawk serpa holster for my birthday for my pistol, its a Taurus 247 OSS tacticle 9 mm like I said I haven't open carried yet still trying to convince my wife of the safety importance and all. I'm from owensboro kentucky and saw one guy tonight at the bbq festival open carrying had a green pistol at the 3 oclock position and it made my wife feel a lot better about it that their are in fact "others" I'm hoping to learn about and try out this life saving habit any first timer tips or anything?
    Welcome to OCDO and greetings from sunny, dry Arizona jwhayne0001!

Glad to hear you'll be starting to OC soon. Here's my list of tips (not a comprehensive list by any means):

0) Practice the four rules of firearm safety.

1) Know the laws regarding OC (and carry in general) in your area. These days, it seems the greatest threat to OCers may come from law intended to entrap armed Law-Abiding Citizens (LACs) by having intentionally ambiguous wording; a second threat is from law enforcement after an anti-Freedom individual calls the cops because they don't like to see you taking responsibility for your own safety.