Thread: OC on foot?

OC on foot?

hey guys, im new to OC. I live in columbus area and crime is pretty bad here. I get off work at nights and i walk home. i was wondering about current laws on OC'ing and advice on LEO confrontation

Welcome to OCDO. I have been stopped by Columbus police twice. Both times the police did not demand id or disarm me.

If approached by the police do not touch your firearm. Most of the time the police have been called by someone that seem you and they are investigating the "man with a gun" to see if you are a threat. Smile and you should be on your way in a matter of moments.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

Open Carry is legal and protected by the Ohio constitution. Even better, Ohio Revised Code 9.68 gives Ohio state laws preemption over local laws regarding firearms so a city or whatever cannot restrict them more than the state does. As long as you obey gun buster signs and if asked to leave, you leave, you should be fine.

I don't live in your area, and I've never been stopped by the police so I don't have any direct knowledge or experience in that regard, but N605TW's advice looks sound to me.
    Christian, Husband, Father
    NRA Life Member
    NRA Certified Range Safety Officer
    NRA Certified Pistol & Rifle Instructor

Anything I post in these forums is my personal opinion formed by my own interpretation of the topic.
    IANAL and anything I say is not intended to be nor should it be taken as legal advice.

Quote Originally Posted by JustaShooter View Post
    Open Carry is legal and protected by the Ohio constitution. Even better, Ohio Revised Code 9.68 gives Ohio state laws preemption over local laws regarding firearms so a city or whatever cannot restrict them more than the state does. As long as you obey gun buster signs and if asked to leave, you leave, you should be fine.