• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Man brought gun to Reynolds HS after shooting to protect sister is arrested

Lord Sega

I'm not a lawyer, so correct me if I'm wrong...

Ryenolds High School, Troutdale, Oregon is in Multnomah county.

Multnomah county recently passed new gun laws, one is similar to the Unloaded Carry laws that Portland and some other cities have passed. This is allowed under State preemption ORS 166.170 and ORS 166.173

Multnomah county code §15.064 POSSESSION OF A LOADED FIREARM IN A PUBLIC PLACE.(see page 7)

This is poorly written (IMHO) and like Portland and others requires the firearm have all ammunition has been removed from the chamber and from the cylinder, clip, or magazine. It doesn't say "unloaded" in the body of the ordinance.
If it said unloaded firearm and did not require an unloaded magazine, etc... then it would meet ORS 166.170 & 173.

Anyway, if the article facts are correct then, I see these offenses:
1) carrying concealed without a CHL (ORS 166.250)
2) carrying a loaded firearm in a public place (Multnomah county code §15.064)
3) carrying a firearm in or on school building, grounds, or within 1000' of school grounds (Gun-Free School Zones Act (GFSZA) 18 U.S.C. § 922(q))
--- not exempt since he does not have a concealed permit / license of the state the school is in.