• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Virginia gun law questions

Justin2012

Hello everyone, I am a PA resident and I have a PA LTCF. I am planning on visiting Virginia beach for a few days on the labor day weekend, and I would like to bring my sidearm with me. I already know that Virginia recognizes my LTCF, but I still have a few questions about VA's gun laws. My first question is, can I carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol, so long as I don't consume alcohol, and if I get pulled over in Virginia, do I have a legal duty to inform the police that I am carrying a firearm? Thanks in advance for your help.

blahpony

Restaraunt carry is fine. If you carry concealed you can't drink.

You do not have to inform an officer you're carrying at a traffic stop.

scooter348

Virginia Gun Law questions

Don't forget you will be traveling through "Cuba on the Chespeake", otherwise known as Maryland, to get to the Old Dominion. They have very strict laws when it comes to transporting a gun in your vehicle. Good luck and enjoy your time at the Beach.

The Truth

I must chime in... be safe going through Maryland. Once you get through MD and reach the promised land of the Commonwealth, you will find that you are free to go.