Thread: Memphis School District

Memphis School District

Does anyone here live in the Memphis, MI area? I open carried at the elementary school yesterday while dropping my son off for his first day of preschool and apparently it caused quite a stir. I open carried again tonight to my daughter's Lego Robotics Team meeting and had a several minutes long conversation with the principal (that was not recorded, I will try to get a recording device this weekend) where she informed me she knew I wasn't a threat, she understands my rights, and she can't do anything about me carrying but she's in contact with the school board, other districts in the area, and the DA to see if something can be done to restrict carry in the school. This is my first time dealing with anything like this, my family and I are relatively new to the area, and we don't know anybody here, so I'm not sure what, if any, public support/opposition I could expect (or if the general public usually doesn't notice/care and this is a case of small, squeaky wheel and misguided school admin) if the district decides to push it.

Quote Originally Posted by jrj_51 View Post