Thread: State Bill Aims To Ban Citizens From Taking Guns To Church

State Bill Aims To Ban Citizens From Taking Guns To Church

State Bill Aims To Ban Citizens From Taking Guns To Church

A bill that proposes to ban the carrying guns in church in Alabama. Violators could face a Class C misdemeanor with up to 3 months in jail and up to $500 in fines.

http://www.local12.com/news/features...ch-23887.shtml

"Larry Burch is against the bill. "No matter if it's a Southern Baptist, Jewish congregation or others, they all have the right to defend themselves against extremists," Burch said. The Republican Chairman of the House Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee Randy Wood says the group will give the bill a fair shake. However, Woods doesn't know how people would feel about legislating private entities, like churches. "
    I am not a lawyer, I study the history of gun control laws.

State Researcher
    Seems like an infringement of the free exercise of religion to me. On what basis does the State presume to make certain objects illegal in all Churches, regardless of whether any church wants such items banned?

There are well known religions for whom the carrying of a weapon is a religious obligation.

It is easy to imagine that a congregation in most any church might determine they want to allow or even encourage the possession of defensive weapons at their meetings. This law would prevent it? Clearly, and church that wanted to allow arms would be able to get such a law overturned fairly quickly.

At the very least, to withstand 1st amendment claims, such a law must allow churches to permit arms if they want to.

I believe a better policy is to permit arms, unless the church gives notice in some reasonable way that arms are banned.