Thread: No CHP how to transport?

No CHP how to transport?

Hey guys I've recently been reading up on how to transport my handgun. I am new to open carry. And am nervous about getting harassed by Fairfax LEO. I read on a previous forums that u can keep it holstered as long as it isn't purposly concealed with a towel clothes ect. So if I open carry threw Walmart get in my car, seatbelt on, drive away get pulled over for taillight out. and they see my handgun, it's totally legal to have it on my hip with the mag in? One in the chamber? I didn't mention I have a firearm in the vehicle? What if he wants to run the guns numbers to make sure it's not stolen? Do I Hand it over? Right to search the vehicle? Sorry for the overload of questions. Just been hassled by police here for much more so minor offenses. "U didn't have your turn signal on, may I search your vehicle". "no". "why not? what we you hiding, I'm calling backup." Thanks for any help,advice, wisdom you can spare on a young, new gun owner. 😁😃

Accomplished Advocate peter nap's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Eshirley View Post