Thread: Traveling to California

Traveling to California

My wife and I will be leaving for San Francisco from Washington on Wednesday day and will arrive on Thursday. Obviously carrying my trusty sidearm is out of the question, but what about non lethal options? I work as a Security Officer and I've got a collapsible steel baton that I'd like to carry.
    I've read stories about pushy homeless people and women being grabbed I'm public and I really don't want have to let it get that far.

So what options do I have to deter any altercation?
    Also is there any place I shouldn't carry pepper spray or a knight stick?
    In addition, where should a couple of tourists in their 20's check out or stay away from?
    -PJ

"A well-regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed." -Amendment Two, The Constitution of the United States

"The right of the individual citizen to bear arms in defense of himself, or the state, shall not be impaired..." -Amendment Two, The Constitution of the United States

Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Munkey Butt View Post
    My wife and I will be leaving for San Francisco from Washington on Wednesday day and will arrive on Thursday. Obviously carrying my trusty sidearm is out of the question, but what about non lethal options? I work as a Security Officer and I've got a collapsible steel baton that I'd like to carry.
    I've read stories about pushy homeless people and women being grabbed I'm public and I really don't want have to let it get that far.

So what options do I have to deter any altercation?
    Also is there any place I shouldn't carry pepper spray or a knight (sic) stick?
    In addition, where should a couple of tourists in their 20's check out or stay away from?
    Appears that batons are not permissible - only some knives are legal
    http://socallawblog.blogspot.com/201...i-legally.html