Thread: It's an opportunity to educate...

It's an opportunity to educate...

As in this Walmart checkout lady. This may have been discussed on OCDO before, but perhaps not as a "Why Open Carry" topic. Some hindsight on what I might have said differently:

Lady: "We don't know yet, so we're trying to find out..."

Me: "I'd be happy to provide you with links to both Walmart Corporate Policy, as well as to state and federal law."

Lady: "You're not a cop."

Me: "Actually, I'm a writer. I sometimes serve as an usher at my church."

Lady: "In New York, I know about the rules."

Me: "Different state, different rules."

Lady: "Well, it doesn't matter. I don't feel comfortable with someone in the store, with a gun, and there's a lot of people around. I'm from New York, and I don't feel comfortable with a gun around."

Me: "Actually, it does matter. Open carry is legal here in Virginia, and Walmart policy is to abide by local and state law."

Lady: "I don't understand what's the purpose of coming to a grocery store with a nine millimeter or a nine Glock. That's why I'm uncomfortable."

Me: "Well, I'm uncomfortable with bad guys. The purpose, the reason why we law-abiding citizens carry firearms, is for self-defense. Bad guys do exist. We wear seat belts for the same reason. Getting into an accident is unlikely, but we buckle up just the same."

There's nothing wrong with putting people on defensive, provided it's done politely and with respect. If you find yourself on the defensive, you're behind the power curve.

There are some people, however, with whom you'll never win, and at those times, it's often best to simply state (keeping the upper hand), "While I respect your opinion, Sir/Ma'am, please respect mine. I will continue to open carry commensurate with local, state, and federal law."

https://youtu.be/ku3UjRr9YPQ