Thread: No Firearms at Cave Run Lake?

Salt Lick, KY

No Firearms at Cave Run Lake?

I'm pretty new to carrying and have not really paid attention to signs about it. Today I went with my family to the Spillway at Cave Run Lake and the first thing I noticed pulling in was the "No Firearms" sign. It was my understanding that this was a public park? Sorry if this has already been addressed, but does anyone know if it is legal for them to prohibit weapons there?

Gamaliel, Kentucky, United States
    i don't know about cave run lake, but i called barren river lake and was told that the dam area was contolled by the a.c.o.e. and that no firearms are permitted. however other area's of the park are ok for carry, the guy i spoke with was nice and said only the dam area and on the water was controlled by the a.c.o.e. and they prohibit firearms.

Southeast, Missouri, USA
    Cave Run Lake is jointly run by Corps of Engineers and National Forest Service. Given that one can carry per state in National Forests, I assume it is the Corps that is causing the restriction.

I have not ben to Cave Run except to drive around a bit for many years. I do not know if it is run like KY Lake/Land Between the Lakes where the Corps has amended the policy such that, while guns are still prohibited except for hunting or cased to go the range, if you have a CC license/permit they will honor it as long as there are not aggravating circumstances (e.g. brandishing or illegally discharging) or if the ban is strictly enforced. I suspect that like at KY Lake/LBL, the CofE controls a minority of the physical land area at Cave Run.

FWIW, here is an old thread talking about this.
    Last edited by deepdiver; 05-24-2015 at 03:23 AM.
    Bob Owens @ Bearing Arms (paraphrased): "These people aren't against violence; they're very much in favor of violence. They're against armed resistance."

United States