Thread: Rethinking jury nullification. Ilya Somin @ Volokh Conspiracy

Rethinking jury nullification. Ilya Somin @ Volokh Conspiracy

"Jury nullification occurs when jurors choose not to convict a defendant they believe to be guilty of the offense charged, usually because they conclude that the law in question is unjust or the punishment is excessive. When I first thought about jury nullification as a young law student, I was inclined to be against it. Yes, it could potentially be used to curb unjust laws. But it can also be a vehicle for jury prejudice and bias. Most notoriously, all-white juries in the Jim Crow-era South often acquitted blatantly guilty white defendants who had committed racially motivated crimes against blacks. Moreover, ... [ ... ]

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/...nullification/

Reynolds: Nullifying juries more interested in justice than some prosecutors
    http://www.usatoday.com/story/opinio...lumn/31124011/

Don’t support laws you are not willing to kill to enforce
    [ ... ]But, as Carter emphasizes, incidents like this are also a predictable consequence of the overextension of the regulatory state:

On the opening day of law school, I always counsel my first-year students never to support a law they are not willing to kill to enforce. Usually they greet this advice with something between skepticism and puzzlement, until I remind them that the police go armed to enforce the will of the state, and if you resist, they might kill you.
    https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/...ll-to-enforce/
    Last edited by Nightmare; 08-08-2015 at 07:49 AM.
    I am responsible for my writing, not your understanding of it.

Accomplished Advocate color of law's Avatar
    HAM SANDWICH NATION
    http://www.columbialawreview.org/wp-...debar-1023.pdf

I've been preaching jury nullification for years.

When discussing jury nullification with people I explain jury nullification with this fable.