• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Carry rules

Jason sprague

Im new to all of this i live in michigan people tell i can open carry as long as the gun can be seen from 3 sides is this true if so is the only place you can carry ison your side or hip if some one can help answer these questions it would be awesome thanks

Grapeshot

Legendary Warrior
Im new to all of this i live in michigan people tell i can open carry as long as the gun can be seen from 3 sides is this true if so is the only place you can carry ison your side or hip if some one can help answer these questions it would be awesome thanks
Open carry is legal in Michigan because there is no statute/law saying that it is illegal and there is no definition of open carry. Only a definition of concealed carry. Therefore, IMO there is no requirement that an OCd handgun be visible from three sides - think this is just an ol' wives tale. It is how one carries, not where the observer stands and whether of not he in fact can or does see it that counts.

Note that to OC in a vehicle, it is required that you have a permit to CC.

http://https://www.michigan.gov/documents/msp/MSP_Legal_Update_No._86_2_336854_7.pdf

Also read previous thread on OC in Michigan:
http://forum.opencarry.org/forums/showthread.php?113518-Open-Carry-without-a-CPL