Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question regarding drinking and open carry

Question regarding drinking and open carry

Good afternoon everyone. Here's the situation: I'm a Police Officer Candidate and today we were going over weapons laws which included some open carry discussion. The instructor asked if we could carry and drink alcohol. I stated that if you are conceal carrying with a CHP, then no. If you were open carrying, then yes but frowned upon. Can anyone point me in the right direction with VA state codes regarding this?

Thank you,

Brian

Virginia code 18.2-308 covers conceiled carry. A sub section of that makes it illegal to drink while carrying conceiled. There is no law regarding open carry, hence no law prohibiting drinking while carrying.

I'm sure someone better qualified then I will be able to point you too the exact paragraph.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
    Yes I carry a Bible and a Gun, your point.
    Vindiciae Contra Tyrannos (meaning: "A defence of liberty against tyrants")
    Benjamin Franklin said, "A government that does not trust it's citizens with guns is a government that should not be trusted."

Yes we did cover that code....and that's what I was thinking that since no code states you can't drink while open carrying that it was legal.

I am no expert on the code of law, but my personal opinion is that before I start drinking the guns go away. I feel the same way about driving. Alcohol and guns/driving should never be mixed.

Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar
    Generally indulging in an adult beverage while OCing is is said to be legal because there is no law specifically stating otherwise.

However note the following closely related statutes. Note that there is no distinction between CC and OC.

§ 18.2-285
    Hunting with firearms while under influence of intoxicant or narcotic drug; penalty.