Thread: Questions about open carry

Questions about open carry

Okay guys, I'm new to the whole open carry and all. I currently live in VA, where I am a resident. I have some family in WV, where I'm from. I know in my state, I'm legally allowed to purchase a handgun via private sale, or as a gift. (I'm 19). I also know in VA I am legally allowed to open carry, starting at age 18. My question is, I will be heading in to WV in a few weeks, and want to know if i am allowed to open carry even though I am not a resident (for self defense purposes only). I have found else where, (wether it's true or not) WV states you be 18 to open carry. But doesn't state wether that includes non-residents or not.

So - sorry if anything I included is wrong, it's just what I read and finally directed my question here to get the full on answer.

Thanks guys!

Founder's Club Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Painter View Post
    Okay guys, I'm new to the whole open carry and all. I currently live in VA, where I am a resident. I have some family in WV, where I'm from. I know in my state, I'm legally allowed to purchase a handgun via private sale, or as a gift. (I'm 19). I also know in VA I am legally allowed to open carry, starting at age 18. My question is, I will be heading in to WV in a few weeks, and want to know if i am allowed to open carry even though I am not a resident (for self defense purposes only). I have found else where, (wether it's true or not) WV states you be 18 to open carry. But doesn't state wether that includes non-residents or not.

So - sorry if anything I included is wrong, it's just what I read and finally directed my question here to get the full on answer.

Thanks guys!
    Welcome to OCDO!! (open carry dot org)

Well done on your own personal investigation so far. You are definitely a couple of notches above the usual new guy.

You might check the WV legislature website, or the WV state police website.