Thread: First Time Open Carry

First Time Open Carry

I am a new gun owner and live in Bristol, TN. and was on the fence whether to open carry or concealed carry. While waiting on my TN permit to arrive in the mail, I decided to open carry today when I went shopping at Kroger in Bristol, VA. Basically I wanted to see how comfortable I would be and if I would get any comments. I went down every aisle with my Ruger SR9c loaded with a 17 rd mag. on my hip and no one seemed to notice. There was no comment from anyone, not even a passing glance. It was like I wasn't even there. I've been shopping at this same store almost every week for the last 6 years and have never seen anyone open carrying a handgun. I was totally surprised that not even one person made a comment about "he's got a gun". I will definitely say that I it felt natural to open carry and was totally comfortable with it. To me having a gun stuck in a holster inside your pants as most concealed carry enthusiast do is most uncomfortable and doesn't make any sense to me. I don't see any reason to hide your gun when nobody gives a rats ***. After today's experience, I will open carry.
    Last edited by Grapeshot; 02-28-2016 at 06:34 PM.

Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar
    Welcome to the forum.

One of the owners (John Pierce) of this site lives in Bristol, Va. Suspect he and his merry band have done a lot to normalize everyday OC in and about the area. It just isn't the problem that some expected when they first gave it consideration.
    You will not rise to the occasion; you will fall back on your level of training. Archilochus, 650 BC

Old and treacherous will beat young and skilled every time. Yata hey.