• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Is OC legal for non-residents?

NomadMan

I'm a resident of Mississippi, but working in NC and have a few questions that I have been researching, but am getting conflicting information.

1. Is OC legal for non-residents?

2. Do some cities restrict OC? If so, is there a way to find which cities do?

3. In my home state OC is well accepted. Is this the case here or will 911 be called when someone sees OC?

4. What is LEOs response to OC? Are they respectful of OC or do the easily detain?

Thank you in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bc.cruiser

OC is legal for all, including those from Mississippi. Even if you cannot OC in your home state, you are "good to go" here. In fact, non-citizens may also carry. To find any OC/display restrictions in any particular municipality you need to find their ordinances; most subscribe to Municode. Googe 'ordinances of the city of ______".

OC is not universally accepted and some idiot may call 911. That does not mean you will get hassled. I have no knowledge of whether anyone has ever made a 911 call on me. I have had ZERO negative experiences with LEOs while armed, even though many of them (of those I know) do not believe in OC.