Thread: There's the right way... And then there's the wrong way...

There's the right way... And then there's the wrong way...

Heading into my seventh year of open carry, my twenty-fifth year of concealed carry, my thirty-first year as a message forum administrator, my forty-forth year of firearms use, and my fifty-third year of life, I've learned a few things:

1. Local, county, state, and federal representatives will at least occasionally provide you with a personal response to your e-mails and letters, provided you're polite, stick to the facts, cite your sources, minimize the emotions, and use proper communication commensurate with their position of authority. If they don't, or you disagree with their responses, you're welcome to "fire" them by voting for the other guy, even joining the other guy's campaign team.

2. Emotional appeals are on everyone's back burner, these days. We're tired of them. Legislators are tired of them. Consumers are increasingly well-informed. The gen-X/Y crowd grew up with that crap and rejects it, entirely. So, stick with the facts, and make sure it's "the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth." Case in point, the crap I received from Dudley Brown today -- all emotional appeal. That does more harm than good.

3. Insults might make you feel good, but they degrade the cause.

4. The enemy of what is good, right, noble, and true deals primarily in lies. Learn to properly identify deceit, counter it with substantiated truth, and move on.
    The First protects the Second, and the Second protects the First. Together, they protect the rest of our Bill of Rights and our United States Constitution, and help We the People protect ourselves in the spirit of our Declaration of Independence.

Yep, there's a "Hot Topic" for ya, a personal jeremiad. We all gottem and they all stink.
    I am responsible for my writing, not your understanding of it.

Some people will understand and others will not.