Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wisconsin Open Carry

Post imported post

Wisconsin does not have CC, but itis listed as an open carry state. As I will be heading that way this summer to visit family, can anyone tell me about the acceptance of open carry in WI?

Campaign Veteran

Post imported post

Pretty much non-existent. I think you can put an unloaded gun on your dashboard or something. i am not sure what the actual statutory provisions are.

Post imported post

ilbob wrote:
    Pretty much non-existent. I think you can put an unloaded gun on your dashboard or something. i am not sure what the actual statutory provisions are.
    I'm a police officer in Wisconsin. Driving around with a handgun on your dash, even unloaded, is going to get you pulled over, probably as a high risk stop (i.e. at gun point).
    I can assure you that if you do this on the freeway they'll be a zillion 911 calls about it and a dozen squads responding. You can whine all you want about how it's technically not illegal while you're being booked (probably for disorderly conduct).

There are no laws on the state books regarding open carry, if you don't count hunting laws and regulations governing armed security guards. Wisconsins preemption law also voided all local ordinances on open carry.

However, most larger cities are charging disturbing the peace (a local charge) or disorderly conduct (can either be a local or a state charge). Actually getting convictions for those charges are another thing. I've seen lots of those charges get kicked.

What needs to happen is there needs to be a State Supreme Court ruling on whether open carry constitutes disorderly conduct/disturbing the peace. I would say no, as the statutes don't fit the description of walking around with a handgun secured in an open holster.

Campaign Veteran

Post imported post

maybe it is time for wi gun owners to organize some OC walks like what happened in Ohio.

Post imported post

ilbob wrote: