• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Open carry when traveling???

BoydK31

imported post

:)Hello all I am pretty new here, as a matter of fact I am pretty new to carry open or concealed. I wanted to know if I visit another state ie. Idaho or whatever can I carry if the state does not require a OC permit?? Do you need to be a resident to carry in most places?

John Pierce

Administrator
Staff member
imported post

BoydK31 wrote:
:)Hello all I am pretty new here, as a matter of fact I am pretty new to carry open or concealed. I wanted to know if I visit another state ie. Idaho or whatever can I carry if the state does not require a OC permit?? Do you need to be a resident to carry in most places?
Hi BoydK31! Welcome to the site!

You actually asked several questions here. Many of them might be answered by a close look at the maps on out main site at OpenCarry.org.

No state that I am aware of imposes a residency requirement for open carry. The requirements for open carry vary from none to impossible across the states, but they apply equally to residents and non-residents alike.

What specific states are you interested in?

Gray Peterson

Founder's Club Member - Moderator
imported post

Boyd,