Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Carrying in your vehicle

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    , ,

    Post imported post

    I am just wondering about the laws concerning posession of a loaded weapon in your vehicle. It is my understanding that anyone 21 years of age can lawfully have a loaded firearm in their vehicle. Does it have to be in plain sight? Can it be under your seat? Inside your console? Or does it have to be clearly visible on the dash or something? Can you wear it on your belt? I believe says it cannot be about your person. Just wanting some clarification on this subject.

  2. #2
    Moderator / Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Fairfax County, Virginia, USA

    Post imported post

    As you can see, we are tracking no carry restrictions inside vehicles on the travelers' map for MO - so anyone not otherwise prohibited can carry openly or concealed in MO in a vehicle, no permit required. John - please update the textual description on the MO page.

    As for prohibited categories of persons by age or other criteria to possess , MO law would apply.

    ArmedAmerican- please research the MO codeand find any statute with link (if available) limiting car carry by age, and explain if the age limit applies to both unlicensed open carry& concelaed carry.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    , ,

    Post imported post

    Update: There is more straight from the MO concealed FAQ at the bottom.
    [line]I saw this and decided to undertake some searching, because it was generally accepted in Marion County that you could carry any loaded weapon visible in your vehicle that you wanted and, now you could carry a concealed weapon also.

    I eventually arrived at
    This lawyer specializes in weapon and self-defense law in missouri and has published a book on the subject.

    The book costs around $24 + tax. I don't have the money to order the book, but fortunately, he has updates and changes to the book at this location:
    You can also order the book at that link.
    There are links to contact him, and for a lawyer feller, he doesn't sound too bad.
    I think that he could be a asset in many ways. Of couse being a lawyer, I might get sued for copying this...
    To CYA or. more properly, to CMYA, I'll put his text in italics.

    This is an update to CCW PLACE EXCEPTIONS which covers vehicles:
    Vehicles page 145
    (of the book)
    Under the statute the right to carry loaded concealed handguns in one’s home is extended to one’s vehicle. This extended right is confined to persons 21 years old or older who lawfully possesses the firearm. This right only applies to “concealable” firearms (they mean handguns). It does NOT apply to rifles, carbines, or shotguns. It doesn’t have to make sense, it’s just the law.

    The term "lawfully possess" means that the individual can legally own a handgun. Some persons have privately acquired handguns in Missouri without going through Missouri's mandatory, but lightly enforced, purchase permit system (see MISSOURI WEAPONS AND SELF-DEFENSE LAW at page 92). While these handguns have been unlawfully purchased this does not mean that they are unlawfully possessed.

    The handgun may be carried anywhere in the passenger compartment of the vehicle. As in the home, one must be cautious about access by children. People have been charged with endangering the welfare of children by allowing access to guns, and certain prosecutors may take this as a consolation prize.

    My 1/50 of $.
    You can carry a concealed handgun in your house (hurrah!).
    I take this to mean you can do this without a CCW permit.

    If I'm wrong, then should a sherrif knock on the door, unconceal your handgun.:P (Just kidding!).

    Your vehicle is the same as your house.
    So, you can only conceal concealable weapons!
    Well, you can't have everything...
    "In addition to the concealed carry endorsement discussed above, Missouri
    now permits any person who is at least 21 years old to transport a concealable
    firearm in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle. No concealed carry
    endorsement is required. Under the old law, the peaceable journey exception
    to the unlawful-use-of-a-weapon law permitted travelers on a continuous
    peaceable journey to carry a concealed weapon. The peaceable journey
    exception is still in the law, and may apply in circumstances where the new
    law does not (i.e. if the person is less than 21 years old). Also, any coroner,
    deputy coroner, medical examiner, or assistant medical examiner may carry a
    concealable firearm upon or about their person without an endorsement."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts