1. A license is required to carry openly or concealed in Georgia.
2. A Georgia resident must have a Georgia Firearms License (GFL) to carry in Georgia. GA residents cannot use other states' non-resident licenses to carry in Georgia.
3. You can apply for your GFL as soon as you have something indicating that you live in the county where you intend to apply. (Driver's License, power bill, lease agreement, etc...)
4. While state law dictates that licenses must be issued within 60 days of application, most counties ignore that law and usually take up to 6 months.
For reliable information regarding GFLs, do not call your local law enforcement. Check out these online resources instead: http://www.georgiapacking.org http://www.georgiacarry.org