Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: New Database Map - Minimum Age to Open Carry

  1. #1
    Moderator / Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    8,711

    Post imported post

    UPDATE: Just click on link above to see map!

    -----

    OK folks, just like the unlicensed travelers' tab fills an important niche in gun rights tracking, so will the new entry for each state for "Min Age to Open Carry."

    John and I already researched PA & VA long ago - their age is 18.

    What do we mean by "Min Age to Open Carry?"

    We mean, at what age, in a given state, & without parental supervision, may a law abiding 18 year old US Citizen legally walk down the street openly carrying a handgun in a holster?

    In most states, this will be 18 years of age, but we want to get it right.

    What we need from experts in a given state is to tell us the answer, and cite to an authority (e.g., the min age to OC is state X is YY; I know this b/c code section ___, which can be viewed at this link, ____,provides that it is unlawful to possess handguns if you are under YY years of age, or somthing to this effect). If there are state specific wrinkles we need to know about, like MO car carry, let us know that too!

    You can post ehre, but if you have the info handy and are sure of yourself, and are ready to update your state, email it John and me.

    Thanks for making OCDO a great web site!


  2. #2
    Moderator / Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    8,711

    Post imported post

    We will keep slowly updating OCOD till we are done, state by state, verifying by way of an actual state statute, then we will create a color codedmap from this data.

    If "your" state does not yet show a min age to OC, please send John ("jpierce") and I a private email with citation of authority and link to authority, THANKS, and please be patient.

    If your state requires a license to OC, look beyond the min age to apply for the license - because sometimes states requiring licenses to OC accept another state's permit with a lower age!

    OCDO members are our strength - the weak link is John and me keeping up with you guys!

  3. #3
    Moderator / Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    8,711

    Post imported post

    Map is now posted and partially filled in - the orange color for age of 16 is just a place holder as John expects to find a state or two like that.

    meanwhile, please research your state and send us a private email with link to any statute establishing a min age to OC (usually a min age to possess) a handgun.

  4. #4
    Moderator / Administrator
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    8,711

    Post imported post

    UPDATE - mapis complete - thanks for the help and check it out!

    If you find a mistake, let us know by email or private mail BUT please cite to authority, link too if possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •