Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 52

Thread: Need input from Cox Cable subscribers in NoVA

  1. #1
    Regular Member IanB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    1,896

    Post imported post

    I am on Cox for my home ISP and I can't get to the main "opencarry.org" homepage. All other sites (yahoo, msn) to include this forum work. Note the forum is on mywowbb and not hosted on opencarry.org's website. Any other Cox Cable users having issues getting to the main opencarry.org page? I CAN see the homepage by going through a proxy server.

    If cox is blocking opencarry.org that needs to be addressed /w their management!

  2. #2
    Regular Member VAopencarry's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The 'Dena, Mаяуlaпd
    Posts
    2,147

    Post imported post

    WOW! I never thought of it as being blocked. But I have Cox in NoVa and also have not been able to access Opencarry.org.

    Can anybody access opencarry.org, the website, not the forum?
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." - Thomas Jefferson

  3. #3
    Campaign Veteran kimbercarrier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    hampton, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    721

    Post imported post

    I just tried toget on also and don't see the page either. I live in hampton.

  4. #4
    Founder's Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    No longer in Alexandria, Egypt
    Posts
    2,798

    Post imported post

    Hey Nekkid...me too. I saw that last night and thought it was just the net, but it's still down today.

    I was just able to load it on my Palm TREO, so it's not the server and must be COX......

    Those bastards!

  5. #5
    Campaign Veteran kimbercarrier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    hampton, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    721

    Post imported post

    I'M CURRENTLY ON THE PHONE WITH COX NOW.

  6. #6
    Regular Member IanB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    1,896

    Post imported post

    OK, I'm pissed off now!!

    And I spent a considerable amount of time on this last night, reloaded my router from default and everything. Thanks for the info so I can stop my relentless pursuit of IT perfection (I thought my router was hosed or something).

    Kimber, pls let us all know what you find out.

  7. #7
    Campaign Veteran kimbercarrier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    hampton, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    721

    Post imported post

    Jusy got off the phone with tech support and he was able to bring up the site and even described the page . He says they are not blocking it.?

  8. #8
    Administrator John Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, VA
    Posts
    1,735

    Post imported post

    I don't think that Cox is blocking them per se. There appear to be certain DNS servers that are not returning a correct address for opencarry.org while others are working just fine. I am not sure why this is the case since there have been NO recent changes to the zone file, but I am working it with my ISP right now.

    If you guys wouldn't mind, keep me informed if there is any change in the response from your location!

    Thanks!



    John

  9. #9
    Regular Member IanB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    1,896

    Post imported post

    Edit: Comments removed after reading John's post.

  10. #10
    Campaign Veteran Dutch Uncle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,715

    Post imported post

    I've had the same problem in Yorktown. Cox won't connect; have to go through dial-up.

  11. #11
    Campaign Veteran kimbercarrier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    hampton, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    721

    Post imported post

    I can't even get the home page now . I get a message that says it can't find the page. Had to google the site but it takes me directly to the forum.

  12. #12
    Founder's Club Member - Moderator longwatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Northern Fauquier Co, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,297

    Post imported post

    I have cox cable too. I can get the forum but not the database. The problem started about midday tuesday.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    51

    Post imported post

    I have Cox Cable Internet in Newport News. Had problems only for one day, but I've been using it everyday for 6 months approximately and have been able to use this website, and all its functions without problem. Its not Cox. Currently using it right now! Don't crucify Cox.

  14. #14
    Administrator John Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, VA
    Posts
    1,735

    Post imported post

    No. It is not Cox. Except as far as their DNS servers are being affected by whatever problem is causing some DNS servers to not return a good address for the site.

    What is everyone seeing this morning? Did you say that it is working from Cox now?

    Thanks!



    John

  15. #15
    Regular Member IanB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    1,896

    Post imported post

    Cox did not work for me as of 6:30 this morning @ home.

  16. #16
    Regular Member VAopencarry's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The 'Dena, Mаяуlaпd
    Posts
    2,147

    Post imported post

    Still not working for me.
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." - Thomas Jefferson

  17. #17
    Campaign Veteran kimbercarrier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    hampton, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    721

    Post imported post

    It's 5 o'clock and alls not well .Still can't get in through cox.

  18. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    286

    Post imported post

    comcast is working fine... has been all along. dont know if that helps you at all.

  19. #19
    Founder's Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    No longer in Alexandria, Egypt
    Posts
    2,798

    Post imported post

    We've been COX-Blocked!!! :what:

  20. #20
    Campaign Veteran kimbercarrier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    hampton, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    721

    Post imported post

    Well that sux.

  21. #21
    Campaign Veteran Dutch Uncle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,715

    Post imported post

    Update from York County: Cox still can't get me to this site.

    No problem with dial-up.

    Could the Fox headquarters in VA be in Manassas?

  22. #22
    Founder's Club Member Tess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Alexandria, Fairfax County, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,765

    Post imported post

    1815 Eastern time.

    I can't get to opencarry.org. Fairfax County, near Ft Belvoir. Cox.net.



    I have the forums bookmarked, and could go there easily. I could also access individual posts from my e-mailwatch list.
    Laws alone can not secure freedom of expression; in order that every man present his views without penalty there must be spirit of tolerance in the entire population. -Albert Einstein

  23. #23
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Burke/Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    998

    Post imported post

    I wasn't able to get on yesterday or today at my home computer ( COX Cable). I just thought there was something wrong with the site, but right now I am logged on at school without any problems.

    I am very unhappy about this!:X

  24. #24
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Gloucester Point, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    899

    Post imported post

    Newport News, VA

    Can't get to opencarry.org but can get to the discussion forums. Been liek this for 2 days or so.

  25. #25
    Administrator John Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bristol, VA
    Posts
    1,735

    Post imported post

    Now THAT's Funny

    Seriously though. I am still working the problem. Why some of the master DNS servers have the site right and others don't is still a mystery but I have spent the day working on it.

    I hope to have more answers tomorrow morning.

    Thanks for being patient!



    John


    BobCav wrote:
    We've been COX-Blocked!!! :what:

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •