• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Age for FTF sale?

jeri534

imported post

Here in AZ, it is legal to buy a handgun if Im 19 through a FTF sale, is that the same for WA State?

Im a student ehre in Az and Im flying back up for a month and Im gonna look for a gun while Im there...

mattjohnston87

imported post

I can almost say with 100% confidence that you CANNOT buy a handgun (or long gun, I don't know...) if you aren't a resident of that state.

Now you said you were a student, so you might still have a Washington ID. In that case, I'll be back after I do some digging....

Matt

mattjohnston87

imported post

Alright here is the shakedown of it:

Ownership:

RCW 9.41.240

Unless an exception under RCW 9.41.042, 9.41.050, or 9.41.060 applies, a person at least eighteen years of age, but less than twenty-one years of age, may possess a pistol only:

(1) In the person's place of abode;

(2) At the person's fixed place of business; or

(3) On real property under his or her control.

And read this as well: Delivery to ineligible persons.

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.41.080

911Boss

Gone... Nutty as squirrel **** around here
imported post