Hi all. I applied for a Washington CC permit the first day I arrived here in June, but for some reason the Sheriff's office in Island County requires me to wait 30 days before I can call to see if the FBI background check has come back so that I can pick up my license. Kind of funny because I know that they come back in only about a 1 week timeframe or less. When I tried calling earlier they didn't admit that they had it, only that I'm not allowed to ask for 30 days. Very strange - seem's a bit more like a rule to create a 30 day waiting period that is not backed up by Washington law.
But back to my primary question. As I understand it OC is not allowed while in my own vehicle:
(2): A person shall not carry or place a loaded pistol in any vehicle unless the person has a license to carry a concealed pistol"
Can anyone direct me to the WA law on how to properly carry in vehicle without a CCW permit? I believe I had read somewhere that the WA law states that while in a car I have to carry the gun unloaded in a place where no vehicle passenger can reach it (can't find the code though so not sure on that). If true that brings up 2 questions:
1) How in the world do I carry an unloaded gun somewhere in my SUV that has NO TRUNK where a passenger can't reach it? Do I have to attach it under the vehicle near the spare tire?
2) How do you go through the process of getting your unloaded gun & reloading it while in a parking lot without getting unwanted attention from onlookers who call 911 saying some deranged maniac is loading a pistol in the parking lot?
In Arizona it is much easier - OC with no permit anywhere including home or vehicle, other than the normal restricted areas such as court rooms, jails, bars, etc.