• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

New and Nervous

lima

imported post

Good evening, friends. I'm new to OpenCarry.org as well as to the act of open carrying itself.
I live almost RIGHT between Lancaster and Philadelphia in Chester County with my husband and two cats. That's right, I'm a girl. :D I also work at a gun shop and spend my spare time talking about, living, breathing, shooting and training with firearms (mostly handguns).
Though I have carried concealed for almost two years, tonight was my very first time open carrying.

The decision came after wearing a heavy sweater to work as a cover garment. Though I work at a gun shop we are required to conceal and while I am usually cold while at work and the sweater wouldn't bother me, today I was very hot and uncomfortable and had to result to taking my sweater off and tying it around my waist, over my gun.

When I got home from work I said to my husband, "Sometimes I'm just so sick of worry about it. I want to just open carry my gun and not have to worrying about whether it's concealed."

My husband replied, "Well, then, go ahead."

I was shocked at his reply as he is a stronger advocate of concealed carry vs. open.

I asked him if he was serious and if he really wouldn't mind and he said it was my decision.