Thread: Mt St Helens National Monument?

Campaign Veteran

Post imported post

So my question is, is this considered a national park? i.e. off limits to firearms? Trying to understand the classification as it pertains to national parks.

Thanks,

Ken

Campaign Veteran Right Wing Wacko's Avatar

Post imported post

It would appear that the Monument area is administered by the Gifford Pinchot
    National Forest.
    One might assume that National Forest rules would be in effect.

(Never Assume)

National forests are part of the USDA.

National parks are part of the Dept of the Interior.

Post imported post

It's part of the National Forest: http://www.fs.fed.us/gpnf/mshnvm/which includes it in 36 CFR 2.4 (b)as referenced also in this thread about driving along the highway.

Until the Department of the Interior changes that law, don't carry there.

I'm not a lawyer.
    B.S. Chemistry UofWA '09
    KF7GEA

Post imported post

just_a_car,

I'm confused--if St Helens is part of a National Forest, then the section of the CFR you cite on National Parks simply doesn't apply.

(Mind you, you still can't carry (openly or concealed) inside any buildings in the National Forest.)

Post imported post

kparker wrote:
    just_a_car,

I'm confused--if St Helens is part of a National Forest, then the section of the CFR you cite on National Parks simply doesn't apply.

(Mind you, you still can't carry (openly or concealed) inside any buildings in the National Forest.)
    Please click the link and look at the title: "TITLE 36--PARKS, FORESTS, AND PUBLIC PROPERTY"

Edit: Also, this is a fs.fed.gov site talking about the national monument, which means it is under the National Forest Service... *looks at the document again* Hm, but at the same time, the chapter is on the National Parks Service. I'll do a little more research to see what I can drudge up.... I may be wrong here.
    B.S. Chemistry UofWA '09
    KF7GEA

Post imported post

Okay, looks like I was wrong...