Thread: Louisville Zoo

Post imported post

In each ticket window at the Louisville Zoo, there is a "circle-slash" no guns sign along with some verbage about Louisville Ordinance #86-1996 that makes carry of a weapon illegal. I looked it up and it doesn't appear to apply at all. I also thought that KY had complete state pre-emption under KRS 65.870. The Zoo appears to be city own/operated.

Which one is correct?

Post imported post

I am not a lawyer, but I'd tell that zoo to go **** themselves, pardon my American. Kentucky does have complete statewide pre-emption and if that zoo is run by a governmental body, they cannot post that sign. Zoos are not covered under the list of places off limits while carrying.

Campaign Veteran

Post imported post

I_Hate_Illinois wrote:
    I am not a lawyer, but I'd tell that zoo to go **** themselves, pardon my American. Kentucky does have complete statewide pre-emption and if that zoo is run by a governmental body, they cannot post that sign. Zoos are not covered under the list of places off limits while carrying.
    I doubt there is any legal requirement that they not post the sign. They can make any kind of rule they want and post a sign accordingly. Whether they can enforce the rule is something different.

Post imported post

Sort of like those "Management not responsible for any accidents" signs. A sign can't change the law.
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." -- Thomas Jefferson

"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Benjamin Franklin

Post imported post

They could be held responsible if you can prove negligence on their side.

Post imported post