Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: First OC!

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Riverton, Utah, USA
    Posts
    4

    Post imported post

    I never knew that OC in Utah was okay, until I found out about this forum. I have CC'd for about 5 years, but my CC instructor never mentioned once anything about OC.

    I personally believe we need to help educate people (including my wife) on gun ownership, so I have resolved to OC as much as I can.

    I needed to run to Smith's in Herriman and decided to OC. The whole thing was very uneventful. I received many glances, a couple of smiles, and that was it!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    31

    Post imported post

    Congratulations! The first few times feel a little strange, but you stop thinking about it after a while.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Payson, Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,146

    Post imported post

    CONGRATS! yep after awhile you stop caring what people think, i even forget i have it on my side sometimes (and im 18!) ill just be walkin in a store, reach down for my cellphone and tap on my holster "OH yeah, i have a gun... i forgot!" man i love my glock!

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    31

    Post imported post

    Uh... Isn't it illegal for an 18 year old to be carrying a handgun? Thought you had to be 21 to carry handguns. Man, I'm confused.

  5. #5
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Troy, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    544

    Post imported post

    It depends on the state. I actually think it is more common than most would think when a state allows 18year olds to possess a handgun. Usually it's 21 to carry concealed.

  6. #6
    State Researcher Kevin Jensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Santaquin, Utah, USA
    Posts
    2,313

    Post imported post

    In Utah it is legal for an 18 year old (or as I like to call them, adults) to posess a handgun. It is also legal for an individual to sell a handgun to an 18 year old. You need to be 21 to purchase a handgun from a dealer.
    "An armed society is a polite society. Manners are good when one may have to back up his acts with his life." Robert A. Heinlein

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Morgan, Utah, USA
    Posts
    2,580

    Post imported post

    Uraijit wrote:
    Uh... Isn't it illegal for an 18 year old to be carrying a handgun? Thought you had to be 21 to carry handguns. Man, I'm confused.




    b1ack5mith, let me put the code on here for Uraijitso that he will know.

    76-10-509.4. Prohibition of possession of certain weapons by minors.
    (1) A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a handgun.
    (2) Except as provided by federal law, a minor under 18 years of age may not possess the following:
    (a) a sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun; or
    (b) a fully automatic weapon.
    (3) Any person who violates Subsection (1) is guilty of:
    (a) a class B misdemeanor upon the first offense; and
    (b) a class A misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.
    (4) Any person who violates Subsection (2) is guilty of a third degree felony.


    Amended by Chapter 80, 1995 General Session
    Download Code Section Uraijit, any one between 14 and 18 can OC a any type of rifle, shotgun or even an AR-15 with just a "permission-slip" from a Parent/Legal Guardian.

    Utah Code Section 76-10-509
    76-10-509 . Possession of dangerous weapon by minor. (1) A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a dangerous weapon unless he: (a) has the permission of his ...




    • le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE76/htm/76_0C039.htm
    • ยท Cached page
    (a) 76-10-509. Possession of dangerous weapon by minor.
    (1) A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a dangerous weapon unless he:
    (a) has the permission of his parent or guardian to have the weapon; or
    (b) is accompanied by a parent or guardian while he has the weapon in his possession.
    (2) Any minor under 14 years of age in possession of a dangerous weapon shall be accompanied by a responsible adult.
    (3) Any person who violates this section is guilty of:
    (a) a class B misdemeanor upon the first offense; and
    (b) a class A misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.


    Amended by Chapter 10, 1993 Special Session 2
    Download Code Section Zipped WP 6/7/8 76_0C039.ZIP 1,855 Bytes


    [line]




    Amended by Chapter 10, 1993 Special Session 2
    Download Code Section Zipped WP 6/7/8 76_0C039.ZIP 1,855 Bytes






    [line]

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Payson, Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,146

    Post imported post

    thank you kevin and pete!

    Rosie, in the state of california, an 18 year old may posess and even open carry a handgun IN THE CITY, as long as the magazine isnt in the firearm, and they are in a legal place to carry (away from schools, etc) and you must call the city's police dept to inform them in CA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •