• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

marteney1

imported post

Hello all. I'm a newbie to the firearms world (very little experience, none with a handgun... plan to fix that this winter) and was trying to hunt down some information. During the long breaks from school (summer and winter) I work for a fireworks company, and spend 15+ hoursa day in a tent by myself, usually in a less than ideal neighborhood.This has resulted, more than once, in my having to call the police to deal with an issue of theft and/or general feeling of insecurity (i've been openly stolen from multiple times).

I was curious as to the difference between concealed carry and open carry. What does each entail? Open carry = firearm in holster on belt, shirt tucked in, firearm in plain view, loaded or unloaded? What are some common ages for open carry to be legal? What kinds of licenses or training, if any, are required for open carry? What's the deal with Florida's concealed carry program? I've heard it's reciprocal with many other states, but like I said, I'm a newbie, just repeating what I've heard.