Thread: New Member from Boise, and I have some questions...

Post imported post

Hello members of this forum! I'm new to this forum, but a native of Boise for the last 18 years, yes...I was born here.

I'm new to the whole open carry concept as I had originally though that a citizen had to be 21 to open carry a handgun, as I am 18 this could be an issue. However after some research, the last four hours to be exact, I have come to realize that it is in fact LEGAL.

And in light of the recent high levels of mass shootings, it would be in my best interest to carry, as the rise in crime in this city has without a doubt lowered my trust in mankind...

From the NRA-ILA Guide on carrying, I got this:

"It is unlawful for any person under the age of eighteen years to possess or have in possession any handgun. "

And from the actual Idaho State Constitution:

18-3302F. Prohibition of Possession of

Certain Weapons by a Minor.

(1)
    It shall be unlawful for any person under

the age of eighteen (18) years to possess or

have in possession any handgun.

(2)
    Except as provided by federal law, a minor

under the age of eighteen (18) years may not

possess the following:

(a)
    A sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun; or

(b)
    A full automatic weapon.

(3)
    Any person who violates the provisions of

subsection (2) (a) of this section is guilty of a

misdemeanor.

(4)
    Any person who violates the provisions of

subsection (2) (b) of this section is guilty of a

felony.

All of which most of you have probably seen, a lot haha...

After thorough reading though I have not found anything in exact PRINT stating it would be legal or illegal for me to do so, although several articles, including the one from Post Falls and this website, also state that it is legal.

Before I go OCing I would like to be sure of the law exactly as it is, so anyone at this forum who can give me their input, experiences or anything else would be greatly appreciated!