• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

New Member from Boise, and I have some questions...

BrianEMT

imported post

Hello members of this forum! I'm new to this forum, but a native of Boise for the last 18 years, yes...I was born here. ;)

I'm new to the whole open carry concept as I had originally though that a citizen had to be 21 to open carry a handgun, as I am 18 this could be an issue. However after some research, the last four hours to be exact, I have come to realize that it is in fact LEGAL.

And in light of the recent high levels of mass shootings, it would be in my best interest to carry, as the rise in crime in this city has without a doubt lowered my trust in mankind...:(

From the NRA-ILA Guide on carrying, I got this:

"It is unlawful for any person under the age of eighteen years to possess or have in possession any handgun. "

And from the actual Idaho State Constitution:
[font=Arial,Bold]
[align=left]18-3302F. Prohibition of Possession of[/align]
[align=left]Certain Weapons by a Minor.[/align]
[align=left](1)
[/font]It shall be unlawful for any person under[/align]
[align=left]the age of eighteen (18) years to possess or[/align]
[align=left]have in possession any handgun.[/align]
[font=Arial,Bold]
[align=left](2)
[/font]Except as provided by federal law, a minor[/align]