• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Permit training requirment question

GoodOmens

imported post

I'm going home for the holidays and my father wants me to take his Tennessee permit class with him.

Since I still don't have my VA permit (I am a VA resident) I am curious to know if I can use this training to get my VA carry permit.

According to the training:

Upon completion of this course you’ll receive the Certificate of Handgun Training required by the Tennessee Department of Safety as part of your application for your handgun carry permit.

I assume I can use that certificate for my Virginia permit?

Thanks!

LEO 229

imported post

I am not sure what the training involves....

But there are a few ways it could be usable.

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-308

The applicant shall demonstrate competence with a handgun by one of the following:

1. Completing a hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries or a similar agency of another state;

2. Completing any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course;