hey everyone, im a resident of UT, and i opencarry every time i leave the house (no UT CWP, because the age is 21+) and i was wondering what the age to get a CWP in WY is. it gets annoying having to remove my pistol every time i get in the car (no OC in vehicle here without a CWP) and i cant walk around certain areas of the town because i must stay 1000' away from a school (unless you have a CWP lol) and since im only 100 miles away from WY, it wouldnt be too terrible of a drive for me well thanks for your time!
I also would be sure to verify that your resident status of Utah would not make any Non-resident permit from another state voided. A lot of states include this in their statutes to prevent people who do not meet the requirements in that state from acquiring non-res permits from less restrictive states and using them in-spite of the law.
I know it seems like a huge hassel and a great injustice, but to be completely honest, like the drinking age, most states that have the 21 and over qualification are not going to change it to 18. Those of us who are "lucky" enough to live in state's like Alabama seem to be the exception rather than the rule (of course our luck ends where Open Carry begins).
2 actions is unloaded so you are fine there. On you hip the gun is not visible to a cop who would likely be standing at the drivers door; but on the seat next to you clearly visiblewould be fine. Or you can put it in a case (Even a tupperware container, still 2 actions from firing) and stick the case under a seat, in the backseat, etc (somewhere not readily accessible) and it would not have to be visible.
Blacksmith im from utah. Iam 21 but i choose not to get a cwp because one i like to open carry and two i plan on becoming a police officer very soon. just thought would copy and paste the above info for you about what me and mirage were talking about. You can open carry in your car as long as it is visible and two actions away from firing. :celebrate hopefully that helps.
Look into getting a Maine non-resident license... Must be 18+ and have proof of training in the last 5 years if I remember correctly. No fingerprints required, and no trip to Maine at any time is required (all mail-order). From what I can gather (from Utah BCI and other sources), a Maine CWL would be valid for you in Utah (neighboring states of AZ and ID as well), though Wyoming won't accept it.
I seem to remember a provision in the Wyoming statutes that allowed for a discretionary-issue CWL for 18-20 with some demonstrated 'need', etc...
Or get an Idaho 18-20 CWL which is good in WY and UT... I'd recommend the closest Idaho county to you, or give the Ada County Sheriff's Office a call 208-577-3112 and ask to speak to Nora Cole (she handles all the CWL stuff for Ada County and also does Idaho non-resident licenses). Bear in mind that you would want to write a letter to the sheriff of a county in Idaho explaining your reasoning, and that you will have to appear in person at least once if approved.
Believe me, I understand the frustration with the whole 21 vs 18 thing, and I think it's ridiculous to begin with...