Thread: Washington State Caucus

Post imported post

I have a question. As this is my first year as a voter in Washington state I am new to this whole "caucus" thing. My district's pooled caucus location is at a middle school on the weekend. Would this be considered a place that guns were "banned"? If so I find this highly convient for the state to legally disarm voters. Input? Advice? Anyone else in Kitsap county going to Ridgetop Junior High on Feb. 9th 2008?

Post imported post

YES. A K-12 school is always a K-12 school.

Alas.

Post imported post

RCW 9.41.280 prohibits possession of firearms in areas of facilities while being used exclusively by public or private schools.While this might sound like you could carry to the caucus (an activity not an exclusive use of the facility by the school), according to the attorney general's interpretation of the statute, a school is a school at all times if it is under the exclusive control (ownership) of the school.

Check out this link, to an AG Opinion from 1994:

http://atg.wa.gov/opinion.aspx?secti...ve&id=9238

I don't necessarily agree with their interpretation of "while being used exclusively by public or private schools." I think that the legislature probably intended that as an allowance for non-school events such as the caucus, or hunter safety classes, or other public events where a CPL holder might carry. But, I don't want to be the test case.

The law does allow you to secure your weapon in your vehicle should you choose to do so, because you are in the school building on "legitimate business."

Post imported post

Charles Paul Lincoln wrote: