• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

The Open Carry beginner

ScottFNP40

imported post

Hi all,

I am an 18 year old student whom is interested in open carrying. I have been a shooter all of my life, so I am not new to a handgun. Recently I have been given an FNP40 handgun and am now ready to start open carrying ( havent carried before cause my 1911 was to heavy). I come here today because I personally have not even seen anyone open carrying. I'm almost afraid to do it because of the risk of being hassled. I am also afraid that the local PD will not know the laws and thus I go to jail. I also understand that it is sort of frowned upon when a non-licensed person carries a firearm, at least by some people. Anyway if you guys could help me out with some do's and dont's it would sure help me out. I'm just not sure how people here will react to me carrying, because as I've said, I've never seen anyone around here doing it.

casullshooter

imported post

You did not say where "Around here" is, name your area and I am sure someone at OCDO will be better able to advise/help you. For starters:

1. Use a good/sturdy holster.

2. Increase your level of situational awareness within 50 yds.(min.) of yourself.

SWhetsel

imported post