Thread: Let's be respectful of McCain the man, while opposing his politics.

Post imported post

I don't agree with him on several important points, and I don't think anyone could change his mind. North Vietnamese tortures couldn't. I respect his courage and his service in the Navy. I will be courteous. He has earned respect as a man. Ace

Banned
    Washington Island, across Death's Door, Wisconsin, USA

Post imported post

http://www.vietnamveteransagainstjohnmccain.com/

http://www.usvetdsp.com/dec07/mccain_suicide_ptsd.htm

I am a VN Era vet and I do not respect McCain. Roughly 30% of my HS Class died or were wounded in VN while I dodged the draft on a submarine. There are many that doubt his veracity - just as we did Jess Friggin' sKerry. McLame is the GOP's sKerry.

Post imported post

My "personal" issue with McCain and his service is he acts like he is the only POW or soldier that was in Vietnam.

I find it sad how he exploits his POW experience. I respect what happened to him but the way he uses it is just deplorable and annoying. It is almost as bad as Giuliani and his 9/11 card.

I can't stand his positions, he isn't a conservative at all. But then again, it is hard to find a conservative in Washington DC. His polices on firearms are unacceptable, his views on immigration are unacceptable, and the list goes on.

Alexandria, Fairfax County, Virginia, USA

Post imported post

ace1001 wrote:
    I don't agree with him on several important points, and I don't think anyone could change his mind. North Vietnamese tortures couldn't. I respect his courage and his service in the Navy. I will be courteous. He has earned respect as a man. Ace
    Hear, Hear!

Laws alone can not secure freedom of expression; in order that every man present his views without penalty there must be spirit of tolerance in the entire population. -Albert Einstein

Post imported post