Thread: New Guy Looks For Clarification

Independence, and Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Post imported post

Hi to all,

I am brand new to the forum today and have found some very interesting information and am the new biggest fan. I am however, looking for some clarification. If anyone can help me with it, it would be greatly appreciated. My company recently moved me from michigan to missouri to run a store for them that no one else would take. It is apparently in a bad neighboorhood. (troost and linwood in Kansas City MO) I am unable to apply for a CCW until I have been a resident for 6 months, and I didn't get a CCW in michigan, as I lived inthe country, and open carry there was not an issue. My understanding is that I CAN OPEN CARRY a sidearm legally untill my 6 months is up. Is there anyone with some knowledge about how this is generally accepted in kansas city (where I work) or Independence (where I live)? Thanks for any help you can give me!!

Post imported post

Welcome MMDK,

If you go back and read some of the previous post, you will find links to research this and perhaps something listed for Independence. I will tell you that North KC has an Ordinance against it.

Take care,

Shawn

Post imported post

Yeah I searched through the posts and didn't find anything specific about independence. I found the post about it being illegal to carry in north kansas city, but being new, I don't really know where north kansas city is. Any one have a definition of "north kansas city" (i.e. north of i-70 or etc.) would be very helpful. thanks!!

Post imported post

mmdkyoung123 wrote:
    Yeah I searched through the posts and didn't find anything specific about independence. I found the post about it being illegal to carry in north kansas city, but being new, I don't really know where north kansas city is. Any one have a definition of "north kansas city" (i.e. north of i-70 or etc.) would be very helpful. thanks!!